Winter Merienda ’08

At the start of our Winter Merienda we remembered in our thoughts and prayers Mr. John Granville, Fordham College Class of ’97, Professor Andrew Hillman, and Mr. Owen Cahillane, IPED Class of ’07. Mr. Granville passed away on January 1, 2008 in the Sudan while working for the United States Agency for International Development.  Professor Hillman was a visitng lecturer and an active US Foreign Service Officer who passed away in mid July 2008.  Mr. Cahillane had worked for Catholic Relief Services upon graduation and was in the midst of creating his own non-profit organization in New York when he passed away on September 1, 2008.   All three individuals were greatly loved and will be greatly missed.

We held IPED’s Winter Merienda in the O’Hare Room of Walsh Library.  Ms. Julie Cerqueira (Massachusetts) received the Matteo Ricci Award for Academic Excellence.  The recipients of the International Peace and Development Travel Scholarships were Mr. John Briggs (North Carolina), Ms. Bridget Bucardo Rivera (New Jersey), Ms. Rike Cohn (Germany), and Mr. Chengguang Zhao (Pennsylvania).  Special thanks to Mhir and Anthony for all their work in organizing our Winter Merienda.


Julie receives the Ricci Award from Dr.Schwalbenberg.


Dr. Mitra (first from right) awards Cheng, John, Rike, and Bridget their IPD Travel Scholarships. They will intern for six months with Catholic Relief Services in Sierra Leone, Honduras, Madagascar and El Salvador respectively.

Dr.Schwalbenberg congratulates John H, Ryan and Julie on thier High Passes with Distinctions in Economic and Political Analysis on the Comprehensives. 

Dr. Hepp congratualtes John B, Mhir, Stefan, and Rike on their Passes with Distinctions in Economic and Political Analysis on the Comprehensives. 

Dr. Buckley (on far right) congratulates Bridget, Amberly, Anthony, Jason, Rike, Orlando, Amy, Paloma, Ross and Cheng on their Passes with Distinction in Economic Analysis on the Comprehensives.

Dr. Themeli (far left) congratulates Amberly, Amy and Paloma on their completion of their  Advanced Certificates in Emerging Markets and Country Risk Analysis.

Dr. Crystal (second from right) inducts Jason, Cheng, Ross, John H, Ryan, John B, Guorui, Julie, Mhir, Bridget, Rike, Anthony, Leon, Orlando, Joshua, Stefan, Paloma, Amy, and Majda into Sigma Iota Rho, the Honor Society in International Relations.