Winter Merienda ’07

We held IPED’s Winter Merienda in the O’Hare Room of Walsh Library.  Ms. Emily T. Hibbets (Arizona) received the Matteo Ricci Award for Academic Excellence.  Mr. Patrick Shea (New York) won the Xavier Medal for a perfect grade point average.  And the recipients of the International Peace and Development Travel Scholarships were Ms. Elizabeth Pfifer (Mississippi), Mr. Jhin Han (South Korea), Ms. Emily T. Hibbets (Arizona), and Ms. Marie Antoinette “Mae” Mortel (Philippines).  Special thanks to Emily for all her work in organizing our Winter Merienda.  


Emily receives the Ricci Award  from Dr. Schwalbenberg.


Dean Busch awards Mae (first from left), Jhin, (second from left), Liz (fourth from left), and Emily (fifth from left) their IPD Travel Scholarships. Mae, Jhin, Liz, and Emily will intern for six months with Catholic Relief Services in Senegal, Brazil, Madagascar, and Burkina Faso respectively.
Prof. Michael Buckley inducts Patrick, James, Jhin, David, Daniel, Justin, Mae, Lucas, Emily, Brandon, Matthew, Andres, Liz, and Daniel into the International Relations Honor Society. 
Diego (left) receives his Advanced Certificate in Emerging Markets and Country Risk Analysis, while Justin and Corentine receive their Advanced Certificates in Financial Econometrics and Data Analysis. 
Dr. Schwalbenberg congratulates Mae, Brandon, and Emily on their Passes with Distinction in Economic and Political Analysis on the Comprehensives.
Dr. Crystal (second from right) congratulates Rose, Corentine, Jhin and Craig on their  Passes with Distinction in Political Analysis on the Comprehensives.
Dr. Burke (second from left) congratulates Patrick, Lucas, and Liz on their Passes with Distinction in Economic Analysis on the Comprehensives.
Brandon (right) congratulates Patrick (left) on winning the Xavier Medal.
Ms. Madete gives our US Presidential Management Fellow Nominees some materials they need to prepare for their assessment.